

On Tuesday, March 14, 2023, at 9am, the Municipal Election Commission (MEC) held an Election Commission Meeting at the Town Hall, 121 North Gate Road, Myrtle Beach, South Carolina 29572.

Present Chair Melynda Cunningham

Commission Members Beth Helsel

Dawn Johnsen-Potter

Dave Steed

Town Clerk Jennifer Newbold

The media and public were duly notified of the date, time, and place of the Meeting. With a quorum present, Chair, Melynda Cunningham called the Election Meeting to order at 9:00am.

The Chair opened with a **welcome** to the Commission Members, Clerk, and the official open to the **November 7, 2023, Municipal Election** season. The terms of Mayor, Dave Buonviri and Council Members, Peggy Bell and John Wylie end. Election filing begins August 10, 2023, at 12pm.

Only **New Business** was on the Agenda. Beth Helsel's **term ends**; she was thanked for her commitment and service. In turn, the Clerk swore in **new Commission Member**, Dawn Johnsen-Potter.

Required **training** and poll worker availability were discussed; Cunningham will contact the County Election Commission for further details. The Clerk will order a new version of the Municipal Election Handbook if available.

Next, the Commissioners and Clerk reviewed the **timeline**, verifying pertinent dates, and discussed email material and posting dates for residents.

No **Public Input** was shared during the session.

The Commissioners will be in contact and scheduled the next Meeting for July 18th at 9:30am.

With no further business to discuss, the Election Commission Meeting adjourned at 9:29am.

Respectfully submitted,

Jennifer B. Newbold

Jennifer B. Newbold Town Clerk